< NASW Homepage
NASW Logo The Power of Social Work

Special Features

Subscribe to the News

Advertise in the News


Subscribe to NASW News


click to subscribe


NASW Vote 2012

Results of the 2012 NASW national election have been certified by the board secretary at the annual meeting of the members on June 22, 2012. New members of NASW’s national board of directors and the National Committee on Nominations and Leadership Identification took office on July 1. Results of the voting follow and winners are noted in italics.


Vice President (2012-2015)
Jane Middleton 4,376
Freddie Avant 4,026

Treasurer (2012-2015)
Mary McCarthy 5,548
Sam Bernstein 2,829

Region III Representative (2012-2015)
*Daria Hanssen 177

Region IV Representative (2012-2015)
Enrico DeGironimo 483
Gilberto Velasquez 313

Region VII Representative (2012-2015)
Paula Foster 384
Christi Granstaff 311

Region VIII Representative (2012-2015)
Ellen Bartley 210
Mary Weaver 209

Region IX Representative (2012-2015)
Kathryn Conley Wehrmann 407
Maranda May 171

MSW Student Member (2012-2014)
Anita Doberman 4,328
Michael Augustine 3,979


Region IV Representative (2012-2015)
Jackie Jackson 471
Barbara Conniff 333

Region VIII Representative (2012-2015)
Jacqueline Steingold 222
Cassandra Bowers 207

Region X Representative (2012-2015)
Andrea Stewart 330
Alice Tindi 312

Region XI Representative (2012-2015)
D. Lynn Jackson 423
Adelaida Montemayor 384

Region XIII Representative (2012-2015)
Pantea Rahimian 275
Forrest Hong 263

* Due to an issue with residency of the competing candidate, Daria Hanssen was appointed to be the Region III representative to the national board of directors.


NASW Call for Nominations

Vacancies for NASW national elected positions as of June 30, 2013, include:

Board of directors positions:
President-elect (2013-2014 and three-year term as president)
Secretary (2013-2016)
Regional representatives (2013-2016):
  1. V (Del., Md., D.C., Va., N.C.)
  2. VI (Ala., Fla., Ga., S.C., Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico)
  3. XI (Ariz., La., Texas)
  4. XII (Alaska, Colo., Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Mont., Nev., Ore., Utah, Wash., Wyo.)
Member-at large (2013-2016)
BSW student member (2013-2015)

NCNLI positions:
Regional representatives (2013-2016):
  1. II (Conn., NYC)
  2. VI (Ala., Fla., Ga., S.C., Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico)
  3. VII (Ind., Ohio, Tenn., W.Va., Miss.)
  4. XII (Alaska, Colo., Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Mont., Nev., Ore., Utah, Wash., Wyo.)

If you would like be considered for any of these positions, you must submit an online nomination form — now through Nov. 2, 2012. The form and position descriptions are available at Governance. To be considered, you must be a current NASW member.

Advertise With NASW
Contact Us
Privacy Statement
Membership Benefits Join NASW Renew Your Membership Online Contact Sitemap Search Search



Vol. 57, No. 8

Public article

From the President
Social work education needs boost
By Jeane Anastas, PhD, LMSW

Public article

Public Eye

Public article

Affordable Care Act clears high court
Law promises good things, faces hurdles
By Rena Malai, News Staff

Members-only article

The Board Takes Action
June 2012

Members-only article

Hope is key message of NASW conference
By Paul R. Pace and Rena Malai News Staff

Members-only article

Jill Biden announces NASW’s commitment to Joining Forces initiative
By Laetitia Clayton, News Staff

Members-only article

Joint World Conference of Social Work and Social Development
International organizations meet in Sweden
By Paul R. Pace, News Staff

Members-only article

Stroud appointed to ASI board of directors
By Rena Malai, News Staff

Members-only article

Hill rally supports passage of Violence Against Women Act
By Rena Malai, News Staff

Members-only article

NASW takes part in International AIDS Conference
By Paul R. Pace, News Staff

Members-only article


Members-only article

Social Work in Action

Members-only article

Letters to the Editor




Managing Editor:
Laetitia Clayton

Senior Editor:
Paul R. Pace

Writer and Production Assistant:
Rena Malai

NASW Communications Director and News Editor-in-Chief:
Gail Woods Waller


Publisher, NASW Press and News Advertising Director:
Cheryl Bradley

Advertising Sales:
Jim Snyder

(703) 764-5949

NASW Leadership

Jeane W. Anastas, PhD, LMSW

Executive Director:
Elizabeth J. Clark, Ph.D., ACSW, MPH

Subscription Information

Member Address Changes: Member Records, (800) 742-4089, membership@naswdc.org

Nonmember Subscriptions/ Address Changes: NASW Press Distribution Center, (800) 227-3590, press@naswdc.org

Subscription Price: members, $17 (included in annual dues); nonmembers, $35 per year; single copy, $8.

About NASW
Professional Devlopment
Press Room